Toddler Muffins!

01a000d1316c3199723a489bf210a5be06f9ecbf4d

 

When Jolene first started eating more solid foods, I was struggling to find ways to incorporate more veggies (other than frozen peas!). I found this recipe, for toddler muffins, and we ALL fell in love with them! I made quite a few, thinking I would freeze some, and my husband ate so many of them, it was pointless to freeze the rest! They should call this recipe “Not just for toddlers muffins”. Make sure you limit your babe on how many they eat in one day! I learned my lesson the first time I made these, all of the oat bran, coconut oil, maybe just ALL of the good stuff…. you’ve been warned! Ha.

I can’t take credit for this recipe, I found it on pinterest. BUT, I can take credit for telling all of you how amazing they are! My favorite part is that Jo won’t get any refined sugar, with the added bonus of the veggies, of course.

So, by all means, ENJOY!

1 cup whole wheat flour (I always use Bob’s Mills)

1/2 cup oat bran (Bob’s Mills)

1/3 cup organic coconut oil (what I used)

1/2 cup organic no sugar added applesauce

2 ripe bananas

1 cup shredded carrots

1 small zucchini

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda (Bob’s Mills)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp salt

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Mix together coconut oil, applesauce, and eggs in a large bowl.
  3. Shred carrots, zucchini, and mash banana together (or put in the food processor if younger than about a year, to avoid the risk of choking hazards).
  4. Pour into mixing bowl with applesauce, oil, and eggs.
  5. Stir in dry ingredients: whole wheat flour, oat bran, baking soda, cinnamon, ground nutmeg, ground ginger, and salt.
  6. Spoon into your tins about 2/3 full. Bake for about 15-20 (I always have to add time to mine to be sure they are cooked thoroughly, she recommended 15 minutes).

Do what you will with these; eat for breakfast, snacks, freeze some. I always wait until the morning after to put some in the freezer, so they don’t get freezer burnt from still being warm.

Let me know what you think!

Yours truly,

Your Holistic Hippy Mama!
Your Holistic Hippy Mama!

 

 

 

 

 

P.S. Stay tuned: tomorrow I will be posting my first DIY,

but don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers!

0193392ce3f8d3e8a0e167e6a76422985eabb50e5d

 

http://seekingshade.com/2013/02/12/i-heart-muffins

 

One thought on “Toddler Muffins!

Leave a Reply

